Prize for Excellence and Innovation in Philosophy Programs

Co-sponsored with the American Philosophical Associationapapdc-prize

The Prize for Excellence and Innovation in Philosophy Programs is jointly sponsored by the American Philosophical Association (APA) and the Philosophy Documentation Center. The aim of the prize is to recognize programs that risk undertaking new initiatives and do so with excellence and success. It honors and publicizes these programs so that they may inspire others to follow their lead.

The winning program receives a plaque confirming the award and the host institution receives campus-wide online access to a bundle of philosophy resources for the following year. The value to the host institution is well over $3,000. This brings a tangible benefit to all students and faculty at the host institution, with the intention of strengthening interest in, and support for, the award winning program. The prize is given at a reception at the APA Eastern Division meeting.

2019 Winner

The 2019 winner of the Prize for Excellence and Innovation in Philosophy Programs is the Corrupt the Youth Outreach Program at The University of Texas at Austin..

The goal of this program is to help students explore ways in which philosophy can have a tangible impact in their lives. Can it help them understand certain social problems? Can it help them be more charitable when they argue with their friends? Can it help them win an argument against their parents, for once?! The program attempts to get students interested in studying philosophy at the secondary level by helping them think through the ways that philosophy can be instrumentally valuable. To that end, every chapter (Austin, Boston, New York, and Los Angeles) tailors the topics they teach to the unique interests and needs of the students served. Congratulations!

Eligibility and Criteria

Eligible programs include departments of philosophy in colleges and universities, as well as institutes, societies, publishers, or other organizations that develop philosophy programs or projects aimed at promoting or developing research, teaching, or the public understanding of philosophy. Eligible programs must be based primarily in the United States, though they may have an international dimension. Previous winners may be nominated again after a period of at least five years from the original award date.

Excellence is assessed by a record of achievement, the accomplishment of clearly defined goals, and the appropriateness of the program for emulation by others in the field. Innovation is assessed by the development of new research areas, new interdisciplinary or international connections, new modes of teaching or dissemination, new audiences for philosophical work, or extensions of existing boundaries of the discipline.

The selection committee consists of five people appointed by the APA’s Committee on Lectures, Publications, and Research, and includes two PDC representatives.


Any APA member familiar with a program, including those involved in its creation or direction, may nominate it. Nominations must be supported by at least three statements speaking to the criteria outlined above. Other appropriate supportive material may accompany nominations. To submit a nomination, login to the APA website and fill out the APA/PDC prize nomination form. The Award Selection Committee may, at its discretion, solicit additional information.

DEADLINE: Nominations for 2019, with supporting material, are due by June 30, 2020.

Nominations remain in effect for three years. Nominees from previous years will be notified of the opportunity to update supporting material. Questions about nomination procedure may be directed to [email protected].

Previous Winners