PDC Homepage

Home » Products » Purchase

Renascence

Volume 71, Issue 4, Fall 2019

Jeffrey Hipolito
Pages 211-232

Owen Barfield’s Riders on Pegasus
An Introductory Essay

This essay offers an introduction to Owen Barfield’s long romance poem, Riders on Pegasus. It argues that the poem is a complex example of “romantic modernism,” self-consciously following in the tradition of Blake and Shelley while responding in an equally self-aware way to the anti-romantic modernism of early Eliot and Auden. It argues for the formal and aesthetic accomplishment and interest of the poem, and suggests that it is an as yet overlooked masterpiece of mid-century English poetry.

Usage and Metrics
Dimensions
PDC