PDC Homepage
Home » Products » The Journal of Philosophy » Awards & Prizes
Cover of The Journal of Philosophy

The Journal of Philosophy


The Journal of Philosophy invites submissions for The Isaac Levi Prize, an annual award of $10,000 for an article submitted to The Journal of Philosophy on the areas and themes that interested Isaac Levi. Those themes include decision theory, epistemology, formal epistemology, pragmatism (especially as developed by Peirce), philosophy of science, social choice theory, ethics of controversy, and the relevance of philosophy in these areas to public life. In addition to the Prize, the winning article will receive publication in The Journal of Philosophy. The competition is open to graduate students and scholars who have received their Ph.D. within the past two years from anywhere in the world. Questions can be addressed to The Journal of Philosophy.

Isaac Levi (June 30, 1930-December 25, 2018) was an American philosopher and the John Dewey Professor of Philosophy Emeritus at Columbia University. Levi made a name for himself with his first book, Gambling with Truth (A. Knopf 1967, MIT Press 1973). In the text Levi offered a decision theoretic reconstruction of epistemology with a close eye toward the classical pragmatist philosophers like William James and Charles Sanders Peirce. Levi was known for his work in belief revision and imprecise probability. Particularly significant among his later books are The Enterprise of Knowledge (MIT Press 1980) and Hard Choices(Cambridge University Press 1986). Levi was one of several doctoral students of Ernest Nagel who were influential in American post-war philosophy, including Morton White, Patrick Suppes, Henry E. Kyburg, Jr., and Frederic Schick. Levi also served as doctoral advisor to prominent formal philosophers, including Teddy Seidenfeld, Horacio Arló-Costa, and Eleonora Cresto. The author of seven books and dozens of articles, Levi received his Ph.D. from Columbia University in 1957 and taught there from 1970 until his retirement in 2007. His full bibliography is available for download as a PDF by clicking here.

The initial committee to adjudicate the competition for the prize will consist of Carol Rovane, Akeel Bilgrami, Philip Kitcher, Teddy Seidenfeld, Jessica Collins, Haim Gaifman, and Achille Varzi. The committee will have the right not to make an award in any given year if, in its opinion, there is no submission of a sufficiently high quality.

Articles should be formatted for blind review and submitted to [email protected].

The deadline for receipt of article manuscripts is June 15th.